Girls in Tech is extremely honoured and privilleged to be invited to the L’oreal-UNESCO for women in Science award ceremony.   This is the 19th edition of the award, and since the birth of this program, it has supported more than 2700 young women from 115 countries and recognized 97 Laureates, including professors Elizabeth H. Blackburn and Ada Yonath, who went on to win a Nobel Prize.

This award celebrates the excellency, the creativity and the intelligence of 5 eminent women scientists , one from each world region (Africa and the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America) to commend their courage, contribution,  and dedication to various domains of physical sciences, quantum physics and astrophysics, which are fields still largely dominated by men today.

Left to right: Professor Zhenan BAO, Stanford U.; Professor Maria Teresa RUIZ, U. of Chile; Professor Nicola A. SPALDIN, Swiss Federal Technical University Zurich; Professor Niveen M. KHASHAB,  KAUST, SAUDI ARABIA; Professor Michelle SIMMONS , U. of New South Wales, Australia

I was impressed by the originality and the potential impact to mankind of the research work achieved by these women.  Being in the field myself, I am acutely aware that the milestones they have achieved are not trival, and have taken years of failures, learnings, perserverences and genious thinking to obtain.  For example, with the invention of skin-inspired flexible, stretchable and conductive electronic materials, Professor BAO Zhenan and her team promises hope for improving the quality of life of patients with prostheses. Imagine the day when patients with prostheses could have a sense of touch like everyone else, and experience sensations that could communicate and be processed with their brains.

The ceremony also recognise and support the contributions of 15 International Rising Talents- younger women who are their pursuing PhDs and post-doctoral, who are in the early stages of their scientific careers.

To watch the award ceremony, connect to Facebook ELLE.